Poets logo

I want a name...

you know the one

By Jaime FreedmanPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
I want a name...
Photo by Hannah Gullixson on Unsplash

I want a name like a character in a Toni Morrison novel.

One that rolls off the tongue with the feel of both being parched and nourished all at once.

A name that represents everything I might be in life or everything I might never become.

I want to laugh at the way my hips move and not be embarrassed by the extra skin that hangs right below that crater they call my bellybutton.

I want to wear a string bikini that doesn’t really cover my behind and yet no one minds because its supple and tight like the end of adolescence and the beginning of womanhood.

I want go sleeveless and braless and have people stare at the darkness of my nipples. I do not want to feel my breasts slap painfully against my belly.

I want to take a maternity photo shoot with baby oil where my belly looks beautiful and round and not oblong and just a little fat.

I want to take a closeup of my hand and not be reminded of the age that has covered it with spots and brown leeches creeping up toward my wrists.

I want to look down at my ankles and view strength and not be concerned about the puffy dough that goes too far in when I push it.

I want to feel my hair and feel smooth silky bouncy waves and not the brittleness of the kink that doesn’t curl enough.

I want to lick my lips and feel sensual and not dry and cracked.

I want a name like a character in Toni Morrison’s novel. You know the one.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jaime Freedman

I am a mom of four that spends my time dong laundry, taking care of small humans and in the five to ten minutes I have outside of that-trying to write. I love Selena and books and anything Whitney.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.