Poets logo

I waited

For too long

By Amelia Randall Published 4 years ago 1 min read
1

You promised that you were coming back,

You said you would do whatever you can.

The months went by and you sent me a letter,

You promised me your hand!

In the letter you gave me a place and time,

I sat there all bloody day.

I refused to accept that maybe you weren’t coming,

Maybe you just got waylaid.

Everytime I heard footsteps,

I would look up wising it was you.

Watching happy couples walk past,

I knew I had to soon accept the truth.

The truth being that you changed your mind,

That your promise was a lie.

That you didn’t really want to be with me,

And we didn’t have a real plan for life.

I don’t understand what happened,

I mean I know we were both young.

But I would have made you the happiest woman,

Filled you with warmth like the rays of the sun.

I went back to that place quite often,

Hoping maybe there was a chance.

That you had a second change of heart,

And you would be waiting with an olive branch.

Years and years and years went by,

I fell in love again.

But I will always remember you,

My first kiss, my first love, my best friend.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Amelia Randall

Writing is one of my passions. I also encourage my clients to write when they need to express themselves.

Logic, creativity and balance can be found within writing.

It is so important to express ourselves and to allow ourselves to grow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.