Poets logo

I've Played the Violin on My Thighs

Self-Harm Poem

By Desiree StumoPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
Source

Sometimes I play the Violin.

It reminds of my original sin

I'd like to play right now.

I will soon, I vow

Sometimes I like to

I love to

Or I hate myself for wanting to

I'd like to feel it roam across my body to bring me back to life

Or just to calm my restless soul

Across my thigh my knife

glides till I have no self-control

I call myself a violinist

So, I am not categorized as “explicit”

My original sin?

Trusting my father with my depression

And soon, with my blade, I tore my skin

Therein lies my transgression

The violin, I still play

My thighs, I still cut

My heart is an ashtray

I’m still okay, somewhat

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Desiree Stumo

I'm a 20 y/o college student who's hoping to successfully express my emotions and opinions in 600 words or more~ I love organizing, daydreaming, and getting excited about cartoon and anime characters. i@dks_senpai T@Willa2Wall t@Volita_san

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.