Poets logo

I Used to Celebrate Mother's Day...

There is more than one way to being a mother, and I wish I had acknowledged that sooner.

By Razia MeerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
I Used to Celebrate Mother's Day...
Photo by Liv Bruce on Unsplash

I used to celebrate Mother's Day.

I had two perfect children, a pigeon pair, less than 3 years apart - one was naturally delivered and the other was a water birth.

I used to celebrate Mother's Day.

I was oh so comfortable basking in motherly perfection of breastfeeding for two years each and staying at home with them since birth.

I used to celebrate Mother's Day.

Oh, how arrogant I must have seemed, feeding them their home-pureed butternut and reading them endless storybooks.

I used to celebrate Mother's Day.

While my friends went tearfully back to work, I homeschooled and joined PTA's and attended every sporting event with pride.

I used to celebrate Mother's Day.

I used to celebrate Mother's Day until I had two miscarriages and then lost my last born at 7 days old from a congenital heart defect.

I used to celebrate Mother's Day.

Now I celebrate Mothers.

Happy Mother's Day to the birth mothers, the adoptive mothers, the surrogate mothers, the foster mothers, the step-mothers, the soon-to-be mothers, the war-destroyed-my-family mothers, the mothers-that-never-were mothers, the mothers-that-couldn't-be mothers, the mothers-who-lost-angels mothers, the struggling-to-conceive mothers, the grandmothers, the sibling-turned-parent mothers, the single-fathers-with-custody mothers, the two-mother-household mothers, the gone-but-not-forgotten mothers, and all the chose-to-have-furbabies-instead mothers.

Happy Mother's Day to all of you ♡

love poems
1

About the Creator

Razia Meer

Razia Meer is a Managing Editor at women's magazine, AmoMama, and a mother of two teens and an angel baby. With a passion for homeschooling and building water wells in impoverished African countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.