Poets logo

I Tried To Save a Worm Today

As birds swam in the sky

By Ingrid HoyosPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
2
I Tried To Save a Worm Today
Photo by Glen Carrie on Unsplash

I tried to save a worm today

Ants were eating it alive

On the corner of Elmwood

I couldn’t help but cry

On the burning gray cement

It wiggled in despair

Birds were singing songs of June

And I couldn’t help but care

I blew my life over its body

To cast the threat aside

I thought that I had power

But we were out of time

Its pain became my pain

As birds swam in the sky

And the world was unaware

That I was by its side

Shadows fell over my face

Like shelter to my eyes

Taken to the only place

Where death I can deny

Under the veil of beauty

That comfort of protection

There’s refuge in oblivion

There’s pain in introspection

This reality that defines us

This natural selection

Why we fight to make it through

A harsh line of succession

Animals eat animals

The weak will be prey

And once they’re consumed

Cold remnants remain

The energy’s gone

The vessel decays

The world carries on

There’s no other way

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Ingrid Hoyos

Former journalist. Freelance writer. Perpetually curious. Painfully creative. Poetry is my outlet.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Emily Dickerson2 years ago

    Lovely work. I relate so strongly to the sentiments of crying over a sad worm, literally and metaphorically.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.