Poets logo

I touched the ocean today

a poem

By Jolene PoulinPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

I touched the ocean today.

I dipped my hand

in its cool embrace

and felt the waves

wash over me.

I touched the ocean today.

I stood at its doorstep

in my low rubber boots

and felt the cool water

run under my soles.

I touched the ocean today.

I thanked it

for always being there

and being so steady

when everything else moves.

I touched the ocean today.

I felt calm and peaceful

in its salty presence

as I wiped the wet

on my jeans.

I touched the ocean today.

And while it will be a while

until I can do so again,

I know it will be waiting

right where I left it.

I touched the ocean today.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jolene Poulin

I'm an amateur writer with an interest in fiction and general story telling.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.