Poets logo

I take it back

Careful what you wish for

By Daniel Oconnor Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

My broken dreams

Have set you free

And so it seems

Free from me

I used to think of this

Of life alone

Now it’s you I miss

As I reap what I’ve sewn

You are not you

Not anymore

Not the girl I knew

The one I adore

For in her place

Where you once were

Wearing your face

As it shifts and it stirs

Is a shadow I don’t know

A form I can’t place

With intentions so low

In the gutter they scrape

I don’t have to think

Of a time long ago

When my heart it would sink

When we could talk to and fro

But it seems like forever

Like years must have passed

Since me you did sever

And forgot me so fast

I don’t sit and wonder

Not much anymore

There’s no need to ponder

For I know what’s in store

It started as pain

But slowly transformed

Into happiness again

Now that you, you are gone

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Daniel Oconnor

My passion is words, when I write it usually takes no more than half an hour to bring to life what I’m thinking... if I leave it inside my head i obsess over the thoughts and they transform into something I can’t express...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.