Poets logo

I sink my fingers into the earth

poem

By Canaan TricePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
I sink my fingers into the earth
Photo by Chris Yang on Unsplash

I sink my fingers into the earth

Fighting to hang on to what I know to be true

But the one I thought was my friend was the one

Everyone warned me about

He strives to bring me down into the trenches he manipulated me into digging

I can’t blame everything on him

Although

It wouldn’t be difficult to do

But I to, am responsible for my choices

Why do I consistently try to pull myself back up?

When I know that

Adonai is waiting for me to say ‘help please’

I feel the sweat start to form on my body

And I feel the weight on my shoulders

I can’t help but scream out an exasperated

Please Please Please

Do not forsake me

But the hand coming down is gentle

helps me to the place I strive to go

merely weak

my heart turns from tired to grateful

I ask for forgiveness

His arms wrap around me reminding me I don’t have to earn His love

Glass ceilings, glass houses, and glass windows

all the same break when I shout out in tremendous pain

I can’t play the pretending game anymore

I have become who I was created to be

weather tried to stop me, the weeds tried to choke me, but a flower that is meant to grow will grow

it will come out of the ground, and you won’t be prepared for the beauty that is coming

encompassing you

more than just beautiful to the eye

something that fought that hard to surface will fight harder before it dies

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Canaan Trice

Hi, my name is Canaan. I am just a girl who loves to write about the life happening around me and within me. I hope you enjoy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.