Poets logo

I Should Have Said It

I love you

By Paul and Jordan AspenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
I Should Have Said It
Photo by Hunt Han on Unsplash

When you were here

I took it for granted

I could study the intensity in your eyes

I could listen to the way you spoke

I could say what I held in my heart

But I didn’t

I let myself be distracted

and didn’t look into your eyes

I heard the confusion around me

and ignored what you were saying

I kept silent or spoke of shallow things

and never let you know what I was really thinking

And now you’re gone

And I can’t see you

Or listen to you

Or tell you . . .

. . . I should have said . . .

. . . I should have said

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . I love you

***

From the book my heart poured out by Jordan Aspen

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Paul and Jordan Aspen

Professionally, we help entrepreneurs get other people to sell for them through the power of social proof. Learn more at civanpro.com

Personally, we write... stories, poems, educational articles and more. Read more here on Vocal

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.