Poets logo

I Search For You

It's time I stop

By Ali SPPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
4
I Search For You
Photo by Steve Johnson on Unsplash

During each sunrise and sunset

In the smiles of strangers

Eyes of onlookers

In the supermarket

On the bus

In my rearview mirror

When I am at a stop

My heart searches for

Anything recognizable

*

In my arms is where you were safe

Where you felt accepted

Where you could be you

Unpolished

Unapologetic

Vulnerable

Authentic

*

Even at your worst

To me, you were

Good enough

*

I am left breathless

Chasing after trains

Hoping I’d see your face

Glued to the window frame

*

I carry the young woman with me inside my chest

The one you abandoned the day you left

She crawled deep inside and hid

Her presence I feel every day

Mainly the aching and yearning for your return

*

She comes out when there is hope

Today I have to tell her

Like the day you left

She has to accept that you are never coming home

..........................

Thank you for reading!

This poem was first published on Medium.

sad poetry
4

About the Creator

Ali SP

Ali has found a renewed passion for reading and creating. It is now a form of expression for her– another creative outlet which she works to improve upon.

https://www.instagram.com/art.ismyrefuge/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.