Poets logo

I Remember It All

By Isabella Villanti

By Isabella V.Published 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Painting By Editioned Artwork

I remember the sound of your voice

When you first said I love you

I remember your touch

And the way you traced

Your fingers down my skin

Like you could read me

Through the lines on your fingertips

Like I was unique

Like I was understood

Like my beauty was seen

I remember how we talked for hours

Over the phone

And how we kept it going

Even after we fell asleep

Just so we could somehow wakeup

To each other

But

I also remember the first fight

The first break in our trust

The first crack in us

I remember you lying

To protect yourself

And me distancing to protect myself

I remember knowing

That it was falling apart

And I remember not being surprised

When it finally fell

When we drifted apart

No communication

But “still friends”

That’s what they all say

Just an excuse to remember what was

Without ever talking to them again

But it’s ok

It really is

Even though I remember everything

I’ve moved on

I did what I thought was impossible

I lived in the world

I imagined without him

In the quiet place

In the no good mornings with hearts

Or sleepy good nights

In the world where he wasn’t my future

And instead was just the past

I truly think

We make it all out in our head

To be impossible and we can’t imagine

How we could ever do it?

When in reality

Moving on was just

Finally acknowledging

That yes

They were the past

Your past

But that doesn’t mean

They’re meant for your future.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Isabella V.

As a teen writing in an adult world, I’ve made it my goal to bring in a new youthful perspective, awareness on a variety of serious topics and issues we face, to light in my free verse poems.

Because if we have a voice, we should use it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.