Poets logo

I Remained Quiet

A Poem in Memory of George Floyd

By Keren-VS-WorldPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
Original Image was obtained from a Google search. Digital design by @keren.vs.world

I’m sorry.

- - -

I remained quiet because I couldn’t find the words to say.

I remained quiet because it hurt.

I remained quiet thinking the masses of voices are an ample.

So I remained quiet.

And it was numb and soundless for a while.

Until it wasn’t.

Because once upon a time, I remained quiet.

Because once upon a time, I remained quiet in the face of injustice.

And in doing so, I gave it purpose.

And in a heartbeat — a beat that which remains with me (unlike that of an innocent soul),

my astonishments concerning the extant of these atrocities,

suddenly disappears.

And in a flash,

much like the life that flashed before the two, gentle, dark eyes,

I gasp for air.

The same air he could not obtain.

And I struggle.

Struggle to fathom the sudden realization that once upon a time,

I remained quiet.

And that for this reason,

the injustices I cannot grasp,

remain here, too.

© @keren.vs.world

#justiceforgeorgefloyd #justiceforgeorge #justiceforfloyd #blacklivesmatter #icantbreath #restinpeacegeorgefloyd #imsorry

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Keren-VS-World

For wanderlusts, adventurists and all those at heart!

I write motivational precepts, travel tales & poetry inspired by my ventures on planet earth 🌎

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.