Poets logo

I purge my pain

through painful poetry

By Pam ReederPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1
I purge my pain
Photo by Trust "Tru" Katsande on Unsplash

It's easy to see my poetry

Isn't written to be pretty

Or profound.

It is written to purge my pain

To lance the corruption

Eating at my soul

To ease hurt

Without hurting myself.

As a younger woman

Booze and the radio full of sad songs

Would have been my solution

Until I passed out from all the polution.

But I have to be strong

For myself

For others

So, that leaves me writing poetry

To ease my soul with poorly written prose.

It provides amusement for those who write beautifully perhaps

So they can discuss how disgusting my efforts are.

But the pain of such embarrassing thoughts is so minuscule

I write my poetry anyway

And leave them to their fun.

I don't write it for the money

Or for noteriety

I am writing for my sanity

Trying to stay tethered to this world

Another moment, another day.

As I sit marinating in pain

I wait for that golden moment

When it is over

So that I can enjoy a life beyond the pain

And I'll have no more need to purge my pain

With poorly written poetry

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Pam Reeder

Stifled wordsmith re-embracing my creativity. I like to write stories that tap into raw human emotions.

Author of "Bristow Spirits on Route 66", magazine articles, four books under a pen name, technical writing, stories for my grandkids.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred2 years ago

    Always here to support you Pam

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.