Poets logo

I Often Feel Depressed

Thoughts of failure and expectations

By Elisa ToyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
18
I Often Feel Depressed
Photo by Volkan Olmez on Unsplash

I often feel depressed, but I'm not sure if it's due to the stress that I feel on a daily basis.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

To be good at everything I do.

To exceed in all things, even those I don't like.

To please my parents daily.

To be a good influence for my brother.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm often depressed, yet I don't tell anybody.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Because everybody knows me as the "happy, positive person" that they can come to for advice.

I think that's nice, but what about me?

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sometimes I need validation.

"Sweetie, you're doing great."

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

But I don't feel great.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I hate the way I speak to myself, but if I'm speaking it, it must be real.

Right?

Wrong.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Those voices in your head don't belong there tormenting you.

Ignore them because they are not you.

You are the beautiful reflection you see when you look in the mirror.

You are the light of so many's lives, and you are uniquely you.

inspirational
18

About the Creator

Elisa Toy

Nature Lover | Activist | Cancer Survivor | She/Her

I am a queer writer from Arizona sharing my journey and thoughts with you! My writing focuses on my mental health, love of nature, and everything in between!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.