Poets logo

I Never Fell In Love With You

A love poem…

By Lily WinterPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
I Never Fell In Love With You
Photo by Filipe Almeida on Unsplash

I never fell in love with you.

It wasn’t possible.

That reckless,

Trip and fall,

Slip and slip a disk

Kind of love that only allows you to kind of love

Another person,

And love them only for what you see,

Not who they actually are.

No.

I never fell in love with you.

Instead, I stood in it.

Soaked it in through the soles of my feet,

Cautiously

Like I was afraid to let it fully in until I was sure it could not hurt me,

Because I was- afraid that is.

Maybe it was an accident,

Standing in love,

But that doesn’t mean it wasn’t for the best

That doesn’t mean that every day I won’t choose to stand in love again

In fact, it got lonely,

Keeping you out,

Loving you silently,

So I told you.

And I meant it.

And I brought you in so you could stand in love with me.

In the puddle that I’ve built a wall around,

Solely for the purpose of keeping people out,

You are the one I let in.

And you are stuck with me now.

So get over it.

And stand in love with me.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Lily Winter

Hello! I am an eighteen year old university student, and avid writer. To learn more about me, check out my instagram-

Personal: @lily_winter4722

Business: @lily_winter_writes

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.