Poets logo

I Missed Last Train

To you

By Amy ChristiePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - July 2022
11
I Missed Last Train
Photo by KOTA HAMORI on Unsplash

What can I do now that all laughter

has left my life

and I go on

not knowing where to stop

and greet sunshine on daisies

to sing with breeze

on morning sill

how do I know myself

if last train left,

and you were there

without me?

***

I can't keep running after ghost

I wish I could find trail

that leads me back

to loving twilight.

I want to see your face

again

as it was, stays

in memories.

***

Each petal I touch

knows of you

your smile

dwelled in sunlight

I know you're close

when wind adds color to my cheeks

each morning,

each forgiving rain

no storm can undo love

and faith.

***

I cannot hold your hand

but I still feel

a smile that curved

each hazel look on fire,

each walk into a race

to catch sunshine in timeless hug

to know I still have something to look for

it may be buried under bitter ash,

it still rings bell

of happiness past.

***

© 2022 Amy Christie

Originally published on Simily

love poems
11

About the Creator

Amy Christie

Passionate writer and journalist, striving to create meaningful connections.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Bowin Bittel2 years ago

    Great! I want to give you credit!

  • Hanna Poynor2 years ago

    this is wonderful

  • Amber Yee 2 years ago

    I like how this flows keep up the great imagery wording

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Fabulous!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.