Poets logo

I Miss My Breasts

Remembering what they were and dealing with what they are

By Judey Kalchik Published about a year ago 2 min read
Top Story - October 2022
45
https://pixabay.com/users/thefreeman2020-15247546/

I miss my breasts

Now, to be clear,

to you it looks like they’re still here.

And, here they are

and here they’re B

But know this- they once were DD.

For health reasons

I’ve lost some fat

And my breasts have gone, well…flat.

We’ve had good times

My breasts and I

When I look downward now I want to cry.

Because, you see

I remember when

And I’d like to see The Girls like that again.

My daughter said,

“Mom, don’t frown,

We always lose fat from the neck on down!”

Great, I thought,

I’m getting thin

but now I have a wattle under my chin.

I know it’s good,

but it’s not fair,

I remember when my breasts would draw a stare.

My breasts aren’t Me,

There’s no secret power,

But I think back to when they started to flower.

At first just buds

each a small pink bump.

A surprise when the rough towel’s pressure made me jump.

They’re still fun

Don’t misunderstand,

Before, though, to hold: you’d need more than one hand.

I suppose it’s time

Given my age

For them to change, but I feel sadness, yes: rage.

All the time that I lost!

Figuring what they’re about!

I should have flaunted, played, explored, taken them touring about!

I do miss my breasts,

but let me be clear.

I’m thankful, so thankful, that they’re still with me here.

Thank you to Amy Sea for her most excellent Medium publication, Breast Stories, in which I first published this poem.

Tell me in the comments below: Do you have similar feeling about the way your body changes?

Please check out my other Vocal posts and come and follow me on Medium!

social commentary
45

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (22)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy Schieffelin6 months ago

    This is great! I had mine removed from breast cancer and ended up with new ones - lovely though they may be. I have little to no feeling in them. I miss my old ones - even if they weren't perfect. Thanks for the reminder to be grateful to our bodies - and even when things don't go as planned, there's still a way forward. Tits up!

  • Barbara Bell10 months ago

    I miss having a waistline. :o(

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Breast stories of which there are many. So relatable and honest. It comes to everyone, even men if they are willing to admit..

  • 🫶🏾💯👍🌈🥲

  • Cheryl Barnetteabout a year ago

    I just loved this poem! How cute, and oh how I can relate. I too once belonged to the "DD" club and I am not even sure the alpha-value they have now, because like you, I have lost weight due to health concerns. I am now on a whole foods, plant-based diet and the "girls" have vanished. But thank goodness for my girl Victoria and her little secrets, who has made them re-appear, like magic! Thank you again!

  • Joel Lippertabout a year ago

    To be honest with U, I prefer B. As I have smallish hands, don’t you C? I’m sorry you miss, your dear DD, but At least In between, there’s still A val-E. Okay, sorry if that's not as cute as I wanted, but it took me all of 5 minutes. But I find it interesting, the different perspective women have. My Ex-Wife lost both of hers to cancer, and never wanted to have them "rebuilt" (her term). They just didn't mean or do that much for her. Cute poem.

  • marie e ehlenbachabout a year ago

    I wanted to tell someone how my breasts were about right!? I don't know how to say that, but until I had a stroke! My breast hang down! I wonder how it would be if I had a breast surgery. I had a stroke when I was 51 yrs old, I am now 63! I miss the contrast of a blouse or a dress would feel!

  • Titusabout a year ago

    I love that you wrote this! Great poem! https://stumbleguysonline.io

  • Dawn Saloisabout a year ago

    I love how open and honest this poem is. This is something that people rarely talk about. But it’s a very real consequence of weight loss. Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Sam Jamalabout a year ago

    great poem!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    I love that you wrote this! So honest about real life body struggles. Great work and a huge congratulations on Top Story :)

  • Kate Ewing Rose about a year ago

    Yes, absolutely. I breastfed my daughter for almost three years. I was told by my midwife I might never be the same again! I wasn't. At least you are a B!

  • Caroline Janeabout a year ago

    Excellent Judey. ❤️

  • This was awesome! I guess changes that comes with age is invetable. Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Testabout a year ago

    Great poem, Judy! Congrats on Top Story and well deserved. Hearted.

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Fantastic!!! Congrats on Top Story!!! Bras have become a torture chamber or do women become allergenic to spandex?

  • Atomic Historianabout a year ago

    Excellent! It will always rough dealing with unexpected changes in our body

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    Congrats on Top Story - and yes, yes I do - I have not lost size due to weight-loss, just shape and substance due to age. 🙁 Thank you for candidly sharing your story.

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Congratulations 🍾 top story

  • Congratulations on your top sttory

  • Thank you for sharing your feelings Judey. I have been very fat , I still feel I am fat and obviously the cancer has made changes , but we are still us, and I know it's the person who is beautiful, and for breast size, all are beautiful to me as long as the person is good.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.