Poets logo

I'm Worn Out

A free verse poem about autistic burnout

By Talia DevoraPublished about a year ago 1 min read
4
I'm Worn Out
Photo by Ricardo Aguilera on Unsplash

I'm worn out

like ripped, smelly, unclean,

and nasty shirts.

Sugarcoating my disability

is mentally and emotionally draining.

I'm fed up

with feeling

like a cheap piece of garment.

I know

the full truth,

so why does my mind

keep fibbing to me?

I'm worn out

like faded hair dye.

Setting high standards

for myself

takes up so much energy,

I'm not even kidding.

I'm fed up

with molding myself

too much,

just so I can

avoid making mistakes,

and losing friends.

I'm worn out,

I'm frustrated,

I'm baffled,

I'm about to collapse,

and lose my breath!

Autism is a part of me,

and it's a sacred

part of my identity.

I need to stop

masking

and villianizing it.

By Johnny Briggs on Unsplash

Thank you for taking the time to read another one of my poems. If you enjoyed reading this poem, please give this poem a ❤️, share it with others, comment, and please feel free to send me a tip/pledge to show your appreciation and support. To find and read more exciting content, please consider subscribing and visiting my public profile. Stay tuned for more poetry, recipes, stories, and much more!

Please feel free to keep in touch with me!

IG: @tdwrites24

FB: Talia Devora

By Annie Spratt on Unsplash

sad poetry
4

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Very raw and emotional. Well spoken truth ❤️

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Well written, emotional piece. Well done

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Wonderful and truthful poem!!! 💖😊💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.