Poets logo

I'm Tired of Self Care

a poem

By Nicole KeefePublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like

I'm tired of self care.

I've given up all my hope

in lavendar, oil, and pear

in scrubs, face masks and soaps.

I'm tired of taking walks alone

around and around the streets

to try to call a place my own

or making myself feel complete.

I'm tired of reading books

title after title after title

before lethargy is undertook

and the paralysis to sit idle.

I'm tired of listening, I'm drawing a blank,

should it be songs about breakups and death,

or podcasts, Ted Talks, or pranks,

or even white noise to match my breath.

I'm tired of taking a nap

every time I feel alone

or being frozen by hypnotizing apps

every time I pick up my phone.

I don't have the energy, not today,

to go to a person in an office

for them to tell me that I'll be ok

because socializing makes me nauseous.

I want to find a fimiliarity,

so here I am doing self care:

masks, walks, books, music, naps, and therapy

until I feel repaired.

inspirationalperformance poetrysad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Nicole Keefe

Part time artist, writer, and hobbiest who isn't afraid to learn and step out of comfort zones.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.