Poets logo

I'm Sorry

Poetry Slam

By Ann OnymousPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like
Art from Unknown Internet Source

I thought of you today, and it was the first time you have walked through my mind in years. Why? I'd put you in a dusty box in my mental attic, to heal and be free. Did I dust off the box? Or did I leave behind footprints in your mind that led you to me? However it works, that dusty box is open now and I'm left to sort through the memories. Memories that you've erased from your timeline and now the only way they exist is in my eyes and how frustrating and difficult that is when I put in so much time and shared with you my life...but I know that I'm to blame, because my eyes turned into lies towards the end of our demise, searching for some kind of revive, and I know that I really fucked you up in the heart.

I can go back and justify, and list down all that you did wrong and right, but in the end I am here alone with all of them and all I can do is forgive myself for what I've done, and hope that the picture of me in your mind isn't covered in blood and hate but forgiveness and love. I did love you. I still do. I think of your big, deep, passionate blue eyes. Your arms, your hands, your smile. It's interesting how love can matter so little, be so big and take up so much room, yet fizzle down into a tiny spark about to go out from suffocation. There really is no justification. We would have made a beautiful baby, and maybe things wouldn't have been so hateful. There is no way to travel back and change what has been written in the history book, so, all I can say, is I'm sorry, for everything that I took.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Ann Onymous

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.