Poets logo

I'm Okay

and you are not alone - A Poem

By Nikky Affolder-WalkerPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
I'm Okay
Photo by I.am_nah on Unsplash

Frightened and overwhelmed

I sit upon the floor arms around knees

Rocking I speak quietly

"We’re okay. You're okay. I'm okay"

I wonder how often I will need to say it

to believe it.

It seems no matter what I say these days

in the vein of positivity

it Is nothing but a lie

I am not okay.

I am not fine.

I cry more days than not.

I long to run away

To disappear into the darkness

never to be found.

I have responsibilities I cannot leave

Lives that depend on me

and I cannot let them down

Yet I fear I am already doing so

What kind of mother am I

Sitting in the dark crying again

Wishing to be gone again

Believing that every day is harder

than the day before.

I went through a very dark and difficult time. I have gotten help and my medication seems to be on point. I still have moments like this, but it’s short lived. I see a therapist and I’m not afraid to be honest about how I’m feeling. I know I’m not alone and I hope that someone reads this and knows that they aren’t alone either.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Nikky Affolder-Walker

I am a wife, a mother of 3, a pet mom & I have a B.A. in Psychology & Womens Studies. For many years I've put off my dream of writing to take care of my family & I'm grateful to have found Vocal. It's never too late to live your dream.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.