Poets logo

I’m Not Afraid to Admit

I Fear Myself the Most

By Michael L. MartinPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
7
I’m Not Afraid to Admit
Photo by Aarón Blanco Tejedor on Unsplash

I'm not afraid to admit...

That I fear failure, and I fear success,

And I fear everything in between.

I fear being seen and I fear being overlooked,

Even in a crowded place where everyone is sprayed in the face with mace

But I have a mask on.

I fear being last kid picked and passed on all together.

I fear falling like a feather tethered to a brick with leather...

And I fear lace.

Being timed in a race.

Guessing whether or not she keeps the ace in her back pocket

or up her sleeve.

I fear the picture in her locket is not of me.

And I wanna scrape my tongue with a razor blade because I fear the taste of this place.

Just like I fear the basement, the attic, and all the gin-soaked rooms in the middle.

The mysteries, the muddles, all packed down into mud puddles.

I fear the simple and the complex.

The firsts, the lasts, and all the nexts.

I fear random acts of kindness, blindness, and the voiceless.

I fear venomous pretensions. The Poisoned.

I fear detention- bad intentions.

I wanna cut off my ear and send it to her,

And not because I think Van Gogh was a hero,

But because I fear hearing the words,

"leave me alone- just go!"

I fear the normal and the paranormal.

Heaven, Hell, and being in Limbo;

God, demons, angels, and the Devil.

I fear crosses and hexes.

The vexing phone conversations, the texts, and all that fucking lack of love.

But I'm not afraid to admit...

That I fear myself the most.

sad poetry
7

About the Creator

Michael L. Martin

Born in Michigan, raised in New Hampshire, and residing in Arizona. 2007 Graduate of the University of Arizona (English and Creative Writing). 2001 and 2005 Hearst Prize for Poetry Winner. Brand new Dad.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.