Poets logo

I’m Free Because Of You.

A Juneteenth tribute letter to my ancestors.

By Joe PattersonPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
5

I’m free because of you. My ancestors were brought here unaware of the war to be fought here.

I’m free because of you. You lost your name and your culture and history was tossed in flames.

I’m free because of you. You could have jumped from the ships to your grave, but lived to create my bloodline and chose to be a slave.

I’m free because of you. You were treated less than humanity by your master’s vanity and suffered through unnatural insanity.

I’m free because of you. Though you were trapped under the slavery scope, you continued to survive and never gave up hope.

I’m free because of you. You started in this country as property that was bought without a second thought, to standing on the front line of the war that needed to be fought.

I’m free because of you. Your every breath was a life or death struggle that you always fought through with every limb and muscle.

I’m free because of you. I look at history with joyous tears because of you and walk around with freedom with no fear because of you.

I’m free because of you. I’m writing this poem on my computer with gratitude for your ancestral courage that created my future.

inspirational
5

About the Creator

Joe Patterson

Hi I'm Joe Patterson. I am a writer at heart who is a big geek for film, music, and literature, which have all inspired me to be a writer. I rap, write stories both short and long, and I'm also aspiring to be an author and a filmmaker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • The Dani Writer2 years ago

    The Ancestors are proud and so am I!

  • Steve Lance2 years ago

    Great poem and reminder.

  • Pam Reeder2 years ago

    Wonderful tribute!

  • An excellent poem , hope others drop into this piece

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.