Poets logo

I'm Broken, Help Me

I need you to understand.

By alexandria UrrutiaPublished 6 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
1

He was my sun and my moon. My world. My existence.

I need you to understand.

He spoke sweet words smooth as silk. Lied to my face and didn't think twice about it.

So I need you to understand.

He gave me attention when he felt like it. He made me feel insecure and insignificant.

I need you to understand.

He manipulated me. He made me turn against others. He held all of me in the palm of his hand.

I need you to try and understand.

He was my first. I let him in my darkest corners. Shared every single detail of my life.

So I need you to understand.

He used my weaknesses against me. Hurt me. Put me down. Made me feel like I was stupid.

I need you to understand.

That when something upsets me, I have a hard time trying to explain myself and I just go quiet. It is my defense mechanism, my heart trying to protect me.

That I do not have these mood swings and episodes to frustrate you, but the blow ups were my only way of getting any reaction.

That when I cry and I curl up into a ball, it is because I try to make myself disappear to hide from the confrontation.

That I starve for your time and attention because I was not a priority.

That I constantly need reassurance that you want me, and that you do love me, because I was always reminded that I could be cut off at any time for someone better.

That I have a hard time believing that I deserve any good because I think I deserve nothing.

That I constantly am overthinking because it didn't matter what I said or did, I was always wrong and messed everything up.

That I crave your physical touch because it is sweet and soft, not quick and emotionless.

That I am damaged goods, and even though it has been two years, I still carry these memories and feel these scars.

So please, I need you to understand.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

alexandria Urrutia

Just a young adult navigating and exploring. I write authentic feelings and emotions. Welcome to my troubles, anxieties and mental instabilities. Now with an extra add on....im a mom now.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.