Poets logo

I'm Broken But That's Okay.

Finding Joy In What You've Got. In the Little Silver Linings Of Goodness That Come With The Darkness Of Depression.

By Erin ShieldsPublished 4 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
17

Everyone tells me

how sorry they are,

as they look at me

with pitying eyes.

*

Imagining

how hard it must be

to live as me.

*

To them I am broken:

*

Just a watch that

doesn't tick.

A sea without fish.

*

A puzzle

you can't complete,

missing,

its last piece.

*

I'm a sun

that never shines,

hidden behind

a cloudy sky.

*

I'm a desert

that holds

no signs

of life.

*

But despite their thoughts,

judgements, misconceptions.

*

I don't see only darkness

when I look in the mirror.

*

I can find joy in

the sadness.

The struggles

I've been through.

*

The joy that

despite my battles.

I'm still here, alive.

*

That makes me

tougher, stronger

than those who

could never dream

of living as I do -

with what I have.

*

I am all of those

things they see

and believe.

*

Yes, I'm broken

and no, I can't be fixed.

But maybe you'll see,

I'm okay with this.

*

It is just how it is.

How it's meant to be.

So don't see sadness

when you look at me.

*

See the joy in all that

I am, and can be,

because of my

mental disease.

- Erin 30th June 2020 ( Original poem was written by me in 2015, this is a heavily edited reworked poem based upon the original)

All Copyrights belong to me do not use my work or re-post anywhere else without my permission.

inspirational
17

About the Creator

Erin Shields

27. England. Poet. I have Bipolar, BPD & Anxiety. I’ve been writing since I was 18 as an outlet for my mental health.

I also have a Ko-Fi with more of my work: https://ko-fi.com/erin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • KJ Aartila2 years ago

    This is beautiful, Erin! I don't have (diagnosed) mental illness - but physical disability - this poem is also very relatable to that. 💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.