Poets logo

I Loved The Idea of You

A Love Poem

By MegPublished about a year ago 1 min read
3
I Loved The Idea of You
Photo by Dương Hữu on Unsplash

I loved the idea of you,

A shoulder to cry on, a hand to hold.

Seeing the same face every morning,

Fantasizing about making a home and growing old.

Our love was licking lifeless lips,

Loving this way, it’s easy to fall.

Our love had no floor to walk on.

I was an insignificant spider lurking on your wall.

You were an obsession, a distraction,

My mind high off of getting lost-

In the creases of your t-shirt,

In the corners of your neuron forest.

I loved the idea of you,

To be loved and be cared for.

I wanted to forget who I was,

Until one day,

I didn’t anymore.

love poems
3

About the Creator

Meg

I'm here to explore the depth of human experience and to stop procrastinating my passion.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.