Poets logo

I Love You With All My Heart

Just Like I Always Have

By Pam ReederPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
I Love You With All My Heart
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

I sit listening to music

My mind is thinking of you with every word I hear

I birthed you, I loved you, I raised you

You set out on your way

The world was a big place

It swallowed you whole

I couldn't protect you

You didn't want my protection anyway

You stumbled

I didn't catch you

The world and all it's ugliness

Caught you

It bloodied your knees when you fell

And it held you against the ground

By its wicked gravity

It never allowed you to rise again

Not yet anyway

I watch the trail of blood as you drag yourself through the world

Crawling, scratching, clawing

Trying desperately to catch a break

But you don't want a break for just yourself

You want it for another too

And so while you hang on to them and pull

The world pulls back

And the world wins

It always wins

It drags you both down

And it sits on top of you

Never letting you rise together

And each unwilling to rise alone

How does it end?

I'm afraid to know.

All I can do is send my love

And wait for what will be.

I love you with all my heart

just like I always have.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Pam Reeder

Stifled wordsmith re-embracing my creativity. I like to write stories that tap into raw human emotions.

Author of "Bristow Spirits on Route 66", magazine articles, four books under a pen name, technical writing, stories for my grandkids.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred2 years ago

    Sending hugs for this Pam

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.