Poets logo

I Love You, Gabby

My precious baby

By Elisa MirandaPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

“Mommy are you happy” I heard from my three year old's tiny sweet voice.

My mind shook for a moment,

I never realized that she was paying attention

to me.

My mind lost in the craziness of life.

“Yes, baby, I'm happy because I have you.”

I squeezed her little body with a long hug,

kissed her forehead,

and life went on from that moment.

The moment was so brief,

but each memory is like raw dough.

Playing the memory in my head,

is like putting raw dough in an oven

without knowing

what temperature the oven is set at

or what the ingredients will do.

My mind is a million pieces,

my heart right there with it,

trying to play catch up

in a game I never knew existed.

Normal is wishing the memories would stop

for second

to let me catch my breath

so I can wipe my nose.

But I need them,

those memories,

because her voice

could get me through anything.

Her hugs brought happiness.

Her kisses smoothed over any tragedy.

If she could ask me now,

I would say yes, because I still had her.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.