Poets logo

I love you even when

Another entry in a lover's journal

By Scott BlackmerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
I love you even when
Photo by Allef Vinicius on Unsplash

Loving you in sunshine is no art;

you have taught me what I know of joy.

But you should know I love you even when . . .

I love you even when I don’t know how to tell you,

when all I say is too flat, too late, too little --

when my wise heart knows more than my lame tongue.

I love you even when I feel unworthy of your love,

when I see my faults so clearly, and find I miss so much,

and learn how you are hurt by some of what I miss.

I love you even when I feel unready

to be all that you need me to be,

to give all it takes to love perfectly.

I love you even when I just begin to know

what it means to love and be loved,

with you so far ahead of me in such knowing.

I love you even when it hurts to love you,

when your voice accuses and your words wound;

I can’t stop loving you and looking for our misplaced grace.

I love you even when I see time’s toll

and sense we are both less and more than once we were;

I love the once and future you.

I love you even when griefs gather

like last season’s leaves before the door,

and sorrows move in to share our home.

I love you even when I cannot measure

the eternity before us and the joy

that may be ours to find, and keep.

I love you ever when and now;

loving you is so much of what I am;

I love you even when you think I don’t.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Scott Blackmer

Lawyer, writer, traveler. Launched the Traynor's World young adult series in 2020 (www.traynorsworld.com).

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.