Poets logo

I love so many people

but never been in love

By HufflecupPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2

I love so many people

as genuinely and deeply as someone can

because it is the only way I know

but I have never been in love

at least not a two-sided love

unrequited is all I know

and now I think I'm broken

I chase love when it is not there

but can't take the leap for someone who really cares

all I want is to be someone's person

the person they think of first when an interesting thing happens

or they have an interesting thing to talk about

because you're the one they want to talk to most

because you would talk to them all day if you could

but I can't keep a connection past the first date

most sparks die while we're still talking

so an actual relationship feels like a dream

about as real as the American dream, today

maybe it's that attitude

that pushes good things away

I just need to love openly

and let the universe guide the flow

artlove poemsheartbreak
2

About the Creator

Hufflecup

I want nothing more than to dedicate my life to writing, so I figured I would start here to test the waters. I will be submitting stories to as many communities as possible.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.