Poets logo

I lost myself

I lost myself

By RACHEL HELMSPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
I lost myself
Photo by Jonathan Rados on Unsplash

I lost myself

In the busy city where you and I are passing by in a hurry

I've lost myself

But soberly watching it sink and drift

I have buried my soul deep in my hometown

In the scent of wheat and morning dew

  

I have lost myself

In a tense city where lies and truths fight

I can't see the image in my mind that was once pure and beautiful

Maybe it is sealed in that distant memory

There is your kindness and sincerity

There is also my simplicity and beauty

  

I've lost myself

In the brightly lit night

I taste loneliness in the clashing glasses

Loneliness is in the lipstick of the goblet

I think of my childhood playmates under the old elm tree at the head of the village

Together with the little swallows chattering in the nest

I have lost myself  

I have lost my soul

I am afraid to continue in the hustle and bustle of the city

I spread a fragrant scent with camellias

I filled it with the lines of poetry that slipped from my fingertips

Can you come here

Accompany me to see the warmth and coldness of this world

Don't let me turn my waiting and helplessness

I can't even count the number of things on my mind

fact or fiction
3

About the Creator

RACHEL HELMS

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.