Poets logo

I look at the poor woman unable to get out of bed

Written by Abel Johnson Thundil

By Abel Johnson ThundilPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
I look at the poor woman unable to get out of bed
Photo by Marcelo Leal on Unsplash

I look at the poor woman

Unable to get out of bed,

Surrounded by tubes,

Cylinders

And beeping machines with cool graphs.

I look at the poor woman

Unable to get out of bed

And think why she should live.

Her life hangs on the machines,

The tubes,

The people wearing white;

A fuel-less car on a bumpy road

Trying to reach the gas station on a bottle of coke,

An ice sculpture kept up by the cold,

A faint light.

I look at the poor woman

Unable to get out of bed

And laugh at my crappy self,

Unable to get out of bed

For no reason at all.

I look at the poor woman

And see a light in her eyes

That I am afraid to keep looking at.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.