Poets logo

I Held the Sun for Just but a Moment and That Was Enough For Me

Love at first touch

By Rowan Finley Published 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Photo taken by Skylar Kang

I held the sun for just but a moment and that was enough for me.

He warmed me with his kisses and light, so free.

I held on to his love for just a while,

never, thought I, that he could make me smile.

Love only lasts for time so short,

because it fades away to abort.

Memories of love are so fond,

until, broken is the binding bond.

Please love me longer,

because it fuels me and makes me stronger.

But, I know that you cannot stay, for your job does not permit,

though, if only you could be mine forever, I must admit.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Rowan Finley

Father. Academic Advisor. Musician. Writer. Aspiring licensed mental health counselor. My real name is Jesse Balogh.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Devin James2 years ago

    Beautifully written! ☺️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.