Poets logo

I have no more tears!

My heart is still pure.

By Irene MielkePublished 2 years ago 2 min read
2
I have no more tears!
Photo by Samantha Green on Unsplash

I used to see you as a future king.

I thought one day I'd wear your wedding ring.

I imagined we'd always be together.

Have this unconditional love forever.

It was like a real live movie on the big screen.

I got so caught up in you like a dream.

I showed you my best. I showed you my worst.

Still not sure if I was blessed or cursed.

I can't figure out which part hurts.

I guess you prefer the girls in the mini skirts.

I want to forget you.

I'm stuck on remembering you.

You haunt me like a nightmare.

Why did I have to care?

I shake with anxiety when I hear your name.

Do you say I'm to blame?

I constantly push you away.

I have to accept there won't be a brighter day.

Why do you put me on a guilt trip?

Like, somehow, you deserve a big tip?

I had so much pain.

I started to feel insane.

I can't look at you.

I was naive to trust you.

Words and charm are your game.

Chase your fame.

I'll be over here,

One day overcoming my fear.

I am rewriting my story with a happy ending.

I guess this must be the purpose God is sending.

Sadly you know.

I loved your show!

However,

I don't do well with heartbreak.

You promised me I wouldn't have heartache.

I can't be your friend.

I got too emotionally attached in the end.

I can't watch your life.

It cuts me like a knife.

You lied -- oh, you lied.

I cried., yes I cried.

My tears were too much; you ran away.

I dream we could go back to yesterday.

I know you're afraid.

You're ready with your blade.

My standards were too high.

So, in the end, we both waved goodbye.

Why did I like you?

Now I don't know what to do.

Why did you want me?

If you were going to choose easy?

They keep saying I deserve better.

I wrote you letter after letter.

I guess you can read those.

I wouldn't accept your rose.

Sing your sad song.

To me, you're long gone.

I'm untouchable now.

I'm unreachable now.

Blame your pride.

These tears have dried.

I'll be a man's princess.

Sorry, I can't play the mistress.

I guess they can.

It's just not who I am.

Once upon a time, I was there.

I was more than fair.

I guess I want to be freed.

I'll pray you still succeed.

But I can't say I hate you.

I waited so long for you!

Someday you'll look for me--

Straight out of curiosity!

It's your loss if that day I'm happy.

Smile for him, and remember me.

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Irene Mielke

Hi,

I am Irene. I am an aspiring blogger and writer looking to influence the next generation towards their dreams. I want the rest to know that age is just a #, and you're never too old to begin a new dream from scratch.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.