Poets logo

I Feel that, Let’s Converse:

Narrative Poem

By Saroyan ColesPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
4
I Feel that, Let’s Converse:
Photo by Giorgio Trovato on Unsplash

When you blast a happy song, and the lyrics make you burst into tears I get that, he says

I feel that, she replies

We converse

When you get so absorbed in a story, you can escape within the pages, and ignore the dishes that pile up,

I get that, he says

I feel that, she admits

We converse

When you binge watch tv shows, because you don't want to fold laundry,

I get that, he says

I feel that, she reveals

We converse

An empath takes things to heart, every emotion is felt with a depth of the ocean.

The fear of upsetting you, as we feel overwhelmed by the energy you project

Has a magnetic pull effect

So we redirect conversations,

As we watch your eyes, search ours for cues,

Our clueless expression

Gives you no indication

But if you look on our sleeves,

you will see all the wonder and admiration our hearts can procure

I am sure,

I know,

I get that, he says

I feel that, she discloses

We converse

Do you? She implores

....

The two's verbal

exchange was no more.

heartbreak
4

About the Creator

Saroyan Coles

I want to empower others with my writing. I have always dreamed of seeing my name, on something.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.