Poets logo

I Do Believe

By Natalie Marie Stefani Rice

By Natalie Marie Stefani-RicePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Shy Siren Heart of Darkness Pinterest.com

I do believe we are destined to meet certain people.

Destined for encounters of the of the intimate kind.

Quaint, quiet times you take with you where ever you may go.

We hold these memories in our souls, close to our hearts I do believe.

A kindred spirit, your soul mate, a lover, even your best friend will stay emblazoned in your heart.

And forever on your lips.

An acquaintance that feels so familiar; almost kismet, becomes someone you feel you have known your entire life.

I do believe you two were destined to cross paths.

Other times you will find it hard to even remember people's names.

Teasing you somehow; their names dance on the tips of your tongues.

Movie stars remind you of people you've met before.

Or you'll see celebrities walk among us as if the world is your stage.

You see your past in the faces of strangers.

You may think you see him every where you go, but the truth is he's gone.

While it's difficult and painful to let go we know letting them go is necessary to be able to move on.

While some loves you can never forget, some of them you could seriously have lived without.

I do believe some we may even regret.

We give ourselves to whom we choose.

And unfortunately, sometimes, not by choice, we never get us back.

You choose to whom you give your youth to.

You choose with whom you will grow old with.

But I do believe there are places some of us much rather be.

Some people you can't help but fall in love with.

Some you think you'll never be able to live with out.

We learn to carry on, we have to, this I do believe without a doubt.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Natalie Marie Stefani-Rice

So please grant me peace from the demons I see. They crowd me and stalk me and won't let me be.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.