Poets logo

I Choose: To Open Up

A difficult decision

By Sheila L. ChingwaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
I Choose: To Open Up
Photo by kevin turcios on Unsplash

Years have passed,

yet, letting go is a must.

I have pushed

I have been pulled.

******

I have built

a world of happiness.

Alone, yet, surrounded

by those in fake masks.

******

Hope arrives,

yet, too many falseness

had caused

me to build protective walls.

******

The walls,

are no longer needed,

for I trust myself

to be true to me.

******

The foundation

of my beliefs

are choice

of my own making.

******

When walls fell,

so did the unhealthy

need for acceptance

of a community that didn’t care.

******

We all belong

somewhere in the world,

Yet, I have come

to accept not to be accepted.

******

I have grown,

to see that I

am a person

no one has ever met.

******

I choose…

To open up.

To dare to strive.

To dare to stand in my own power.

******

I choose…

to love…

who I am

and who’s in my world.

******

I choose….

to show myself,

that life is my own

and open up to not care what they think.

******

Behind closed doors,

I choose to show

the world that I exist.

One memory at a time.

******

I choose to…

walk away from

Other’s opinions.

other’s judgements.

******

I choose to….

Ignore their expectations.

No longer

will I exist in their parameters.

******

I choose…

To open up

to the world

Created for and by me.

******

I choose….

to love me again

for I have

become an amazing being.

*****

I choose to…

give thanks

fed by gratitude

to my higher power.

******

Like it or not,

I choose me,

join me

and make one memory at a time with me.

******

I choose

to place good

in my life.

I hope the good is you,

*****

Being a warrior

and fought

the wickedness of this world

I struggle to open myself.

******

Protective barriers

are gone

and I am teaching

myself what love is.

******

I choose..

to love again.

to live again.

most importantly, to dream again.

******

I choose...

anything that is good.

I choose to turn away

from difficult things and people.

******

I choose...

Not you...

and not the world.

I choose to open to new.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Sheila L. Chingwa

Welcome to my world.

Welcome to my thoughts.

I am proud to be a Native American Elder born and raised in Northern Michigan. Thanks to my hard work I have a B.A. in Education and a Masters in Administration and Supervision in Education.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.