Poets logo

I Can't

October 2019

By N. ThomasPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
I Can't
Photo by Anthony Tran on Unsplash

Questioning if I wasn't enough and wondering why

Messing with my mind, playing on every insecurity

Finding what I was searching for then stepping back to watch you walk by

Remembering that you kept looking after you'd already found me

I can't stop asking, "Why not me?" and the question keeps my head buzzin'

Knowing that you deserve a lifetime of love and delight

Getting a lump in my throat when I think of it being in someone else's arms

Telling myself to get out of the way and give up the fight

Wanting to see you happy even when all I can do is cry and miss your charms

I can't stop wondering why she's the one and I wasn't

Loving you and wishing you only the best

Knowing you don't feel the same and you'll never be mine

Enjoying every moment together and feeling blessed

Feeling crushed to know that it would be the last time

I can't make your heart feel something it doesn't

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

N. Thomas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.