Poets logo

I can’t think of it

It’ll come I guess

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
11
I can’t think of it
Photo by ZSun Fu on Unsplash

I woke up with this feeling

Of utter shock

I knew it would pass,

And the moment would fold over and drown into sorrow.

It always sounds like rain,

It feels like rain pattering on a tin roof,

There are no tin roofs around here.

I think of Little Lemon Flower

Crying in the sun, and the sun shines on,

I cry as the harsh rays cross over her blossoms covered in tears, not water,

Cause I understand how the world moves

Around the aching, troubled, painful

Waters surrounding you,

So indifferent and cruel.

Sometimes I hate waiting

For the feeling to pass.

I hate trying to get back to the world.

I eat and hate the feeling of full.

I cried today because the food was like ash and dust, and I didn’t want

To feel human anymore.

I can’t think of it,

I can’t think of anything.

It’ll come, eventually.

I guess.

sad poetry
11

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.