Poets logo

I Can't See Past It

By Natalie Marie Stefani Rice

By Natalie Marie Stefani-RicePublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Flickr.com

I'm looking past you.

You're in your red truck.

I'm looking at the seat next to you.

It should be my seat.

But instead all her shits there.

And you're telling me how you fucked up.

"But all her shits there," I say.

And I can't see past it.

I hear what you're saying.

And I want to believe you.

I want to believe every word.

I look into your blue eyes and I

want to believe you.

But I can't see past it.

I close my eyes while you're sitting there and I think back.

I think back to when that was my seat and I was in your truck and it was just you and me.

But now all her shits there and I can't see past it.

"Just have faith," you tell me.

And I reply, "Baby I'm all twisted, I'm all tangled up in what I'm seeing and what I'm feeling. And if ever there was an ever it would be right now.

But I can't undo what I'm seeing. And I can't undo what I'm feeling. And all her shits right there in the seat that should be my seat and I can't see past it."

You place this tiny silver cross around my neck and you tell me, "don't stop believing."

You lift my chin up and look me in the eyes and whisper that no matter where I am that you're always gonna be right there with me.

And I want to believe you.

I want to believe every word.

I look into your blue eyes and I

want to believe you.

But I can't see past it.

I watch your red truck fade away and I already miss you.

I know I have to move on.

I know I have get past you.

I take the tiny silver cross in my fingers and I start to cry.

It suddenly begins to rain.

And I let the raindrops wash away my tears.

Slowly I can feel them wash away the years.

I close my eyes and in an instant all my words come rushing down upon me.

Falling to the ground like hail. Crashing down around me.

I'm left to stagger through the pieces of a life you left behind.

To carry on alone.

To learn to live without you.

It's time for me to move on.

It's time for me to move past you.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Natalie Marie Stefani-Rice

So please grant me peace from the demons I see. They crowd me and stalk me and won't let me be.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.