Poets logo

I Brushed My Teeth Today

And Tomorrow I Might Even Do Laundry

By Yess BrycePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
I Brushed My Teeth Today
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

I brushed my teeth today

This is like a mighty mountain to climb

Some days

And I did it today

Tucked in between

All the other monumental mountains

A row of tectonic plates

Has pushed thru my life

I am navigating great shifts

Both mountains and crevasses

Keep me reaching for things like my

Toothbrush

How can I even smile

When the fog hides the mountains

From view

Reaching for things like my pickaxe on the glacier

And reaching for things like my belay line

To guide me down

The toothbrush and the brushing

The rope and the security

The mountain and the valley

I brushed my teeth today

Which lead me to the next precipice

And I stand here debating the next mundane mountain to climb

Does everyone face these moments like this

The looming tediousness of living

The leering complexity of existing

I brushed my teeth today

And tomorrow

I might even do laundry

Yet another mountain

And yet another great accomplishment indeed.

By engin akyurt on Unsplash

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Yess Bryce

Currently halfway through my Creative Writing degree with Oregon State University, in an attempt to leave the cooking and farming world of work. Newly hired as a Contributor to Edible Magazine! It's working!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.