Poets logo

I Am Not Me Anymore

It was all taken away

By Glen McKenziePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

I am not me anymore

I think I am but I am not

What or who I am or was

Or could be is gone

The blackness of reality overshadows

All that was, is or could be light

Pandemic existence killed my soul

I am not me anymore

Foolish words and uttered phrases

Broken lies and chapters of deceit

The guardian angels of denial rule

I am not me anymore

The light that flickers is falsely lit

Triggers of hope swiftly gone

An endless treadmill of survival

I am not me anymore

Togetherness, unity and love

Are now diminished phrases

They have no meaning left

I an not me anymore

Self-centeredness and egotistical desires

Always been and always will

Rule life like an infected scab

I am not me anymore

I am not me anymore

What was taken I want back

One fleeting wish and desire

I am not me anymore

And never will be

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Glen McKenzie

"Thoughts From The Wilderness" examines how nature and the outdoors intersect with our daily struggles and presents ways we can move forward and triumph over tough issues hindering us from leading the lives we were meant to lead.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.