Poets logo

I am not a poet

prose poetry

By Domonique EaddyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

I am not a poet. I am not so skilled with the mastery of words where I can link a phrase or two to the ends of an arrow whose coordinates are aimed at the time you may have caught a flash of yourself in the mirror, looked at all the cracked pieces lying around you, and offer a bit of strength needed to piece them together again. No, I am not a poet. I do not do well with the machinery suited best to drain the flood out of your lungs or understand just how to craft a b and c to form a pretty life jacket that lifts you out of the waves of your despair to the point that you can no longer bare to keep them in its spinal cage and are compelled to tape them to the walls of your imagination. Honestly, I have no idea how to do it. But I’ll tell you what I can do. I can write you a story with the hope that maybe it works as just well.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Domonique Eaddy

writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.