Poets logo

I Am Not A Perfect Porcelain Doll

A Poem By McKenzie Keathley

By McKenzie KeathleyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
I Am Not A Perfect Porcelain Doll
Photo by Aimee Vogelsang on Unsplash

I am not a perfect porcelain doll.

My skin is cracked and riddled with scars.

My “picture perfect smile” is faded and worn,

But I still smile all the same.

My pieces are uneven from being glued back together so many times.

And the makeup on my face is smeared,

Thanks to all the times I’ve cried.

And the light that once shined so bright in these big Green eyes has dimmed from the multitudes of Promises not kept and lies I’ve been told.

My glass parts are chipped from all the years of not Being handled with care.

I am not a perfect porcelain doll,

In fact I more accurately resemble an old rag doll.

But my soul still bears the tags of a newly bought Porcelain doll.

For I am a mosaic of all of those who has loved me,

And has been loved by me.

I may no longer be a perfect porcelain doll,

But I’m perfectly imperfect all the same.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

McKenzie Keathley

Just an aspiring writer looking to connect with people through my creativity. 💚

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.