Poets logo

I Am Never Alone, But I Am Always Lonely

Like clockwork, there you are; The same person placed into so many different bodies. Gone, but not forgotten because each one is a reminder of one before them.

By Becky CurlPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
I Am Never Alone, But I Am Always Lonely
Photo by Cassidy Kelley on Unsplash

I always dream of being completely alone.

Isolated.

In my dream world, there would be no one around to bother me.

And I would have no one else to bother.

I would finally just be mine.

Alone.

And finally maybe, not lonely.

I have fallen into the habit of always having someone on standby, just in case.

Just in case I’m sad, I know they’ll be there.

Just in case I need someone to tell me that I’m pretty, I know they’ll fawn over me.

I have my “just in case of emergency contact list,” ready for any and all millennial meltdowns.

Just in case I need my body worshipped.

Just in case I need to vent.

Just in case it’s Tuesday, and I just cannot handle that.

I need them just in case I have to be alone with myself for more than just a moment.

It has become predictable, the pattern of their coming and going.

The conversations always start out cordial,

Then they always hit that point of no return.

Good morning is replaced with heavy breathing and too many fucks to even count.

Then the quiet settles in.

Satisfaction.

The distance creeps in slowly, but it is always there.

Waiting for the perfect moment to settle itself into my skin.

When one leaves, it whispers,

“Another is always ready to come in.”

Like clockwork, there you are.

The same person placed into so many different bodies.

Gone, but not forgotten because each one is a reminder of one before them.

It’s like a ferris wheel I never chose to go on and will never be able to find a way off of.

Around and around and around.

And another.

And another.

And another.

And still, it’s just me.

It is always

Just

Me.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Becky Curl

Freelance Writer. Freelance Make-Up Artist. Teacher. Wig & Make-Up Designer. Coffee, dogs & pop-punk are my life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.