Poets logo

i am healing

a poem of reminder (to myself)

By Alexandria StanwyckPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like
i am healing
Photo by Elia Pellegrini on Unsplash

I don't cry in public; I barely get to the point where sadness chokes me and steals the breath from my lungs.

I don't tell people everything about me; I like having parts of me hidden away behind brick walls and barbed wire.

I don't talk about my invisible ailments; Doing so creates another face in the crowd morphed only for pity.

I don't tell the whole truth; I hide the cracks and soften the edges for them because they couldn't handle it.

I have allowed myself to become a persona, a mask, a facade. And I have been growing weary the longer I live.

So now, I allow my darkness to breathe in the presence of one I know understands. They are like me; they hide so much behind their smile.

I find comfort in them and hope they find comfort in me. But as I tell them about my truth, I realize this:

I am not as broken as I thought I was. Not anymore.

I am still damaged and trauma-burdened and war-torn. And the fact I can say it out loud to one person and now thousands,

Even under the guise of a pseudonym,

That tells me I am healing. The fact that I wrote and released a book filled with the most vulnerable parts of myself

That tells me I am healing. The fact I can talk about the parts that squeeze my lungs and make me shake without doing either

That tells me I am healing. The fact that I identify as a survivor and not a victim

That tells me I am healing. The fact that I am here, alive and living.

That tells me I am healing.

If you enjoyed this, please check out some of my other work.

social commentaryperformance poetryinspirational
Like

About the Creator

Alexandria Stanwyck

My inner child screams joyfully as I fall back in love with writing.

I am on social media! (Discord, Facebook, Instagram, and TikTok.)

instead of therapy poetry and lyrics collection is available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.