Poets logo

I Am Freedom

The Song Of The Century

By CyCyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
2
All images are designed by me by utilizing Canva Pro

Warning: This poem is inspired by current events. It reflects the world that we live in and it is also a commentary on humanity itself. There are a lot of terrible things that are happening and unfortunately, one can feel hopeless at times like these.

I am freedom

I protect those that are worthy of me

I am freedom

I am the good guy

The greatest ally

That one can be

Oh I am freedom

And I have the power to take away your liberty!

Don’t believe me?

Just watch and see

I can make those carry children who are barely out of puberty

So I can make those same children a part of my army

I sometimes think about the rights that protect you from slavery

Or the rights that let you love and marry

You cry out from these obvious monstrosities

And yet, you fail to see that everyone is just like me

My machination is the byproduct of the current society

My actions can be found in every country

I often find myself laughing hysterically

When historically, you turned a blind eye when I’ve been discriminately stealing and killing Indigenous children ruthlessly

Cry as you will, my lovely, but my misogyny, patriarchy, and Oligarchy, have been around for centuries

Now, sing it with me once again, honey!

I am Freedom and I hold your liberty

Unless you continuously do something revolutionary

Then maybe, just maybe, you can finally be truly free

Note from me:

Hi! First and foremost, thank you for reading! I know I have been unapologetically writing political poems, but I feel that these poems are my way to convey my frustration with the world as of late.

Anyhow, you can also connect with me on Twitter & TikTok @cyrls_corner and follow my main series: Soul Exchange House of Trials at https://cyrlscorner.com/short-stories/. Sign up for my Newsletter as well to get the latest updates on my posts. Click here.

I would truly appreciate your support whether it would be subscribing, sharing this page with your friends, or leaving me a tip (so I can get even more caffeinated and pump out more stories).

Take care, and hope to hear from you again!

social commentary
2

About the Creator

CyCy

The Chaotic Creator | Writer, Poet, & Blogger | Multi-Genre | Beta-Reader

Fiverr: @cyrls_corner

Twitter: @cyrls_corner

Website: cyrlscorner.com

Sign up for my Newsletter & get updates on my latest posts by clicking here

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Charles Turner2 years ago

    Humanity has achieved the means to paradise while squandering it all by acts of greedy destruction. So close yet so far.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.