Poets logo

I AM

A Spoken Word Poem

By theawkwardestwriterPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

I am from a teacher, a bus driver, a factory worker, and a sarcastic student

I am from the tropical arid heat, hard working days in the hot sun, and lazy nights under roofs made of cardboard

I am from eating hot soup to stave away the heat, from hiding away, watching quietly as guerillas and soldiers patrolled the streets

I am from sunny skies with cool winds, from springs and summers spent at the park and beach, from fall and winter spent watching icy breath steam the air in a land with no snow

I am from sitting in a car, laughing at the skies while a city of owls spoke of dancing fireflies

I am from lounging in front of an empty fireplace listening to an old man sing while an old lady tells him once again not to burn the beans

I am from a lonely grandfather clock that never worked but every hour let out a loud gong

I am from Pide me La Luna, from Leo Dan, from Casas de Carton and many other songs the old man sung

I am from an empty parking lot, taking secret lessons in how drive as a sarcastic student would sit in the passenger seat making snarky remarks

I am from wrestling an old pit bull, laughing too loud in class, running home from school to see the old man on Wednesdays before he went to work

I am from crying quietly as La Mama Eva slowly died, from worrying about the old man when his car flipped in the air, from laughing as he showed off a tattoo that in reality was a scar

I am from wandering the house, yelling for keys, getting lost on the highway to places we'd been to a million times, and getting snowball to the face that was really ice

I am from watching the Grinch on Thanksgiving and Nacho Libre at Christmas, from playfighting every time I saw my cousin

I am from playing on a PS2 and arguing with a dwarf over the controller every time he would come over, from late nights hiding under covers reading books

I am from a crazy family, from a group of friends closer than brothers, from people who would die for me and I for them

artinspirationalperformance poetry
Like

About the Creator

theawkwardestwriter

I love music, books, and poems. Poems are to express, stories to create, essays to expound, music to feel. This is a place for my writing to be shared, poem, essay, and short story alike. May you enjoy what this awkward writer has to share.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.