Poets logo

I AM A COLORED GIRL

A Bagel-Brown Beauty

By MaSuPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
I AM A COLORED GIRL
Photo by Sam Burriss on Unsplash

I will never apologize for my kinky hair or toasted bagel-brown complexion or full lips. I am not ashamed of where I was raised or who raised me. My self-worth is not my credit score. My struggle is not a badge of honor.

My perception is COLORED.

I love because I choose to; not because a religion forces through fear. I vote because I will do my part to create change, not as a Republican, Democrat or African American.

My belief is COLORED.

My strength is generational. My survival instinct is ancestral. My relationship with God determines my freedom.

Money, clothes, houses and land, Status, rank, position or degree. Does not define me.

Caribbean, Irish, African, Floridian… Southern, Urban, Cultural or Royalty Paints my portrait.

My legacy is COLORED.

I will no longer minimize my talent, intelligence or power to fit in. I will no longer accept racial, homophobic and discriminatory behavior. I belong to the human race; not an ever-changing box to be checked.

I am alive and living COLORED.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

MaSu

I see life and people at many angles to embrace my creativity and ignite diversity. I write to motivate all of us to step into our greatness so we can boldly build a strong and resilient community that will change our footprint.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.