Poets logo

I Am...

Musings on being a creative soul

By Chanelle JoyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
20
I Am...
Photo by Jr Korpa on Unsplash

I am the one with the light still burning at 3:00am

I am the one typing relentlessly upon the keyboard

Rearranging letters into words & words into sentences

& so on

*

I am the one who can't hear you over the mayhem within

I am the one staring at the clouds, the stars & the moon

Seeing stories in the endless landscape of the sky

& universe

*

I am the one who tastes the rainbow & also tastes the storm

I am the one who catches lightning, or tries to anyway

To store it in my paper cup, to nurture it forever

& use it

*

I am the one who needs - & sometimes craves - the pain

I am the one who carries this burden within my soul

Molding it & shaping it into verse, into song

& beauty

*

I am the one they say is twisted, bent & broken

I am the one they call a martyr, a freak who needs a leash

Because left unrestrained, I seek the Black Parade

& stay there

*

I am the one who feels too much & holds on too tight

I am the one with the open heart bleeding on the floor

An endless flow of crimson emotion, leaving a stain

& a scar

*

I am the hermit, the recluse hiding inside a shell

I am the one who finds solace in the peace & the quiet

In the tears upon the pillow, the silent screams

& sorrow

*

I am the one who creates new worlds & fills them with light

I am the one who brings imagination to life

Finding colour in the grey scale, in the black

& the white

*

I am the stranger who whispers consciousness in rhyme

I am the dancer to the beat of my own tune

Of ink upon the paper because, I am the Writer, the Artist

& Poet

*

The End

*

Thank you so much for reading my musings into what it's like to be a poet. If you enjoyed the read, I encourage you to show your support by clicking/tapping that little heart, subscribing to my page, or if you're feeling particularly generous you can leave a tip :) All support is greatly appreciated and it helps me to keep being able to do what I love... paint pictures with words!

If you enjoyed this read, you might also enjoy this one...

To read more of my works, you can find them by clicking here...

Cheers,

Chan xx

social commentary
20

About the Creator

Chanelle Joy

I love painting pictures with words, whether it be in poetry or story form, or tackling a social issue in an essay or article. So take a load off and let me entertain you!

I also take commissions. Enquire at [email protected] :)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Lovely indeed, My sentiments exactly. Magical and imaginative words

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    Bravo! This was amazing! 👏👏👏

  • Ooh nice piece ✨💖😉

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    This pretty much sums up the story of my life in the most beautifully poetic ways possible. Love, Love, Love!

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    This serves as a rallying cry to all who create. This deserves a loud round of applause! Take my ❤ and subscription and go! 🤗👏👏👏

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Wow, you really captured what it's like to be a creative person. This resonated with me. Beautiful wording, well done :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.